A little uncertainty can be usefull…

An interesting interaction between myself and the Journalist has led to a change in her behavior towards me; I was going through some orientation material with a new hire, when the Journalist came up and introduced herself:

Her: “Hi, I’m X,…I’m one of (The Blanque)’s favorites.”

Me: “You’re one of my favorites?” (with a note of surprise in my voice)

Her: (turning to look directly at me) “Yeah.”

Me: “You are?” (I injected a slight note of disapproval into my voice as I said this)

Her: “Aren’t I?”

Me: (saying nothing, but cocking my head and raising an eyebrow as I looked at her, trying to convey that she was being a bit presumptuous)

I swear to you, I could see the wheels in her head start spinning, trying to figure out what she had done wrong. I’ll give her props on this, though–she never let her worry go any further than her eyes.

I let her hang there for about a minute, then let her down easy, saying that yes, she was one of my favorites (with a slight emphasis on the one), and that I just wanted to see her sweat a little. Since then, she’s been more…attentive, even flirtatious as she speaks to me–prior to this, it’s been a casual “good morning” as she went past. She’s definitely putting more effort to engage me as encounters me during the day. I think I successfully reminded her that she can’t take me for granted.

I guess it’s ok to shake a woman’s foundations a little bit every once in a while.

One Response to A little uncertainty can be usefull…

  1. […] The Blanque – “A Little Uncertainty Can be Useful…” […]

Leave a Reply

